Today was my first “official” DT post on the Salt Blog.
The topic today (from DT member Ruth) is Serenity, and I really enjoyed studying this topic.

The verse I chose to focus on is the one I used on my card…”Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10.

So many times, I tend to read the “surface” of the verse, or accept the meaning that’s “always been” without looking any deeper, so I love it when I can just focus on one short piece of scripture and figure out what God is really saying.

My favourite “lesson learned”:
“Be still” in this context is from the Hebrew term “raphah” and is translated as “be weak”. So the verse really isn’t saying “sit there quietly and think about God” (which INDEED is important too)…I think it’s saying something more like “Let go of your own control of your life (be weak) and let God take over (be strong) and work according to who He is.” Be confident in the knowledge of what He has done in the past and let Him be in control of your today and tomorrow. Depend on His strength in you, rather than on your own strength, to do what He needs you to do, for His own glory. And rest in the SERENITY that comes from knowing that YOUR God is more than able to accomplish it all.

If you have some extra time, hop on over to the Salt blog and read what Ruth has to say and check out the other creations too!

Have a great day 🙂

Comments on: "Salt Challenge – Serenity" (6)

  1. Lythan said:

    thanks for the lesson Tanis. I’m sure it will pop up in a sermon somewhere! Love the card, the colours are restful and it is oh, so pretty

  2. SmilynStef said:

    Love how you added the blooms to the floral spray elements … wonderful colors.

  3. Stacy said:

    loved your take on the challenge!!

  4. Hazel said:

    Love your response to the challenge – very pretty papers too x

  5. Diane said:

    Love this card. Beautiful in every way…design, colors, and message! Adorable.

  6. […] think my verse speaks for itself, but I talked about this verse in a bit of detail on THIS POST from this past […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

